08.17.09 Post Gencon

thoughts
So, GenCon was amazing!  I had a fantastic time.  I made lots of new friends and saw many old ones.  GenCon, for me, is a huge validation for what we do.  Seeing people be so creative, listening to their stories of strife, being rewarded for incredibly hard work, and just seeing how far one has come in a year makes it all worth it.  Here are some of my personal highlights:

-The Design Matters Booth melted face!  Not only did we hit our goal, we kicked it’s face in.  This year I got to see Gregor Hutton (3:16), Epidiah Ravachol (Time and Temp), Nathan Paoletta (Annalise), Kevin Allen Jr. (Sweet Agatha) and Joe McDonald (Ribbon Drive).  I was exstatic for Eppy and Joe to get the Robin D. Law’s nod of approval.  I’m very lucky to be apart of such a great group of people.  They’re like my small GenCon family.

-Having drinks with Brennan Taylor of IPR and having a demo of Penny for your Thoughts with Paul Tevis!  I love both of them dearly!  They’re such wonderful company!

-Playing Mythender with Ryan Macklin was rockin’!  He definately has a great game on his hands.  It was so much fun that I can’t wait for others to have as great a time as I did!

-I was also very happy for everybody who had major accomplishments this year.  Don’t Rest Your Head (Fred Hicks and Ryan Macklin) for having won a Silver ENnie.  MouseGuard (Luke Crane and the Burning Wheel Crew) for having taken 2 Silver ENnies.  These things are just handed out; they’re earned, and these guys bust their ass.  I’m very proud of them.

-The Pirate Jenny’s for kicking ass and creating their own booth.  Emily’s such a sweetheart and I only wish for the best for her and her boothmates!

-I was very honored to have met Keith Senkowski, who took me aside and began critiquing my artwork in EoD.  He gave me suggestions to how I could improve my style.  That type of honesty is invaluable and I am extremely greatful.

-Playtesting Kevin’s new game.  I’m not sure how much to say about this one, but I’m very eager to see him get this one out.  It was so much fun!

-Playing ACTION CASTLE with Jared Sorensen.  The dude is a genius and I highly encourage anybody to pick up his books or to simply have a conversation with the guy.  I promise, you will learn a lot.

-Sitting in on Luke Crane’s Book Production seminar.  It was only supposed to last an hour, but ended up lasting 2.  Thank you for being such a badassmofo.

I was so happy to become better acquainted with the Burning Wheel Crew. Meeting Radek Drozdalski (Dro) you come to see that the man’s hilarious and I’m glad we’re tweet buddies now.  I’m looking forward to all his shennanary. Thor is such a sweetheart and it was great seeing him.  Alexander is awesome as always!  And finally, getting to see John S. (Jenskot) and his georgous wife Terry!

-Dro, Nathan, and Kevin sat me down and began to drill me about Paralysis.  I came to the realization that this game HAD to be made, but it had to be made RIGHT.  They really inspired me to continue to work on it and not let it fade.
All three of them gave me great advice.

-And last but never least, the Pulp Fiction crew.  They’re the best and I literally could not have gone without them.  Andy Mahon, Dustin, Brady, Kevin, Grey and his son Ian are amazing.  I’m so happy to say that they are my friends!

empire of dust
The final numbers came in and we managed to sell 19 at the con!  Since the Con is now over, I’m sure many of you are wondering what’s next?  Well, EoD will hit IPR very soon.  Things are in the works as we speak!

Those that were on the Mail Order Pre-Order List for the next fulfillment order recieved a FREE Empire of Dust Survival Pack.  OH SNAP!

paralysis
Working on it.  Right.  Now.  Prepare yourself.

~ by amymgarcia on August 18, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
