(06.20.11)

Holy cow!  It’s be like… forever and a day.

I disappeared off the grid for a very long time. I’m sure many of you are thinking one of three things:
(One)  Where has this lady been?
(Two) When will Empire of Dust be available for print?
(Three) What’s new in the works?

Well, I’m here to answer all those questions.

one
Yup, I’ve been gone for about (two) years now from the tabletop scene. (Time flies!)  I think my last blog entry was sometime in (2009) or so.  So, where the hell have I been?  Easy enough answer.  Living life in all it’s glory.  The good, the bad, and everything in between.  Making difficult life transitions and trying to survive in that big open sandbox called “The Real World”.

Recently, a lot of my energy has been going towards work (Six years at Best Buy in October), school, and my wonderful boyfriend, Jayson (A year in a half in July).  I decided to go back to school for Psychology and finished last semester (With a 4.0!  HOLLA!).  During that time, I worked full time at Best Buy AND full time at school.  Any free time I’d have, I’d use towards homework, school activities, and seeing Jayson.  I had very little time for creative endeavors.

I couldn’t understand why I had this sensation like I was missing something.  It was all until I stumbled upon my “Paralysis” notes and realized… I love tabletop roleplaying.  I love creating fascinating characters.  I love the idea that these characters are all doing important things.  I love all the fucking dice.  It is very much apart of my life and for a long time, I lost that.

two
I notice that a lot of people are still asking about Empire of Dust.  First off, you guys are hard-fucking-core.  There’s something to be said about a bunch of dudes who are so passionate and persistent about getting EoD two years after it had been out of print.

So, right off the bat, I’m just gonna say it’s not available.  It’s just not feasible for me.  EoD takes a LOT of money to produce.  With school, bills, and moving in (one) month, I just can’t financially justify backing such an expensive game.  But this is wondrous times we live in.

I’ve been seeing these Kickstarters that I have been incredibly successful.  Daniel Solis raised (24,383) dollars for Do: Pilgrims of the Flying Temple.  Brennan Taylor raised (13,430) dollars for Bulldogs!.  Jeremy Keller has so far raised (17,000) dollars for Technoir.  And Nathan Paoletta has raised almost (1,000) dollars for his game Be Ashamed Young Prince.   You never know.  Sometimes things that die, just can’t stay dead.

three
If you follow me on Twitter you’ve probably heard a lot of my ramblings be about (#rem).  rem is the new project I’ve been working on.

I have this insatiable desire to want to see tangibly what happens to characters as they develop and change.  This originally lead me to start work on Paralysis.  You can say that rem is another iteration of Paralysis though, in Paralysis, a player would cut their character sheet.  In rem, it’s slightly different.  I intend on covering the specifics in a later blog post.  We’re still in early playtest phase so I want to stay slightly hush hush.  I’ve been averaging a playtest a week.  You should hear more in about a month or two.

thoughts
I’ll be at GenCon this year.  FUCK YES.  I intend to be at the Diana Jones award ceremony but past that my schedule is pretty open.  We won’t be having the Design Matter booth this year so I’m sad about that, but it will be a good time to see everybody I haven’t seen in a long time.

Catch you, cowboy.

~ by amymgarcia on June 20, 2011.

3 Responses to “(06.20.11)”

  1. Its good to see that you are back and letting those creative juices flow again! =)

    I’m sad to hear about the EoD not going into print again. That said, I completely understand your position.

    Related to that… Will there ever be a chance for EoD to flourish in the hands of another?
    I’ve been hacking at it for various ideas (Phantasy Star, Mass Effect, Generic) for a while now and I haven’t lost any enthusiasm for the game as the years have gone by.

  2. Thanks Matt!

    This is what I’ll say about EoD. My next endeavor is going to suck up funds. I won’t be able to back both games at this point. The plan is to to use Kickstarter to fund rem. If it is successful and things fall in place, it’s possible that I can put EoD back in print. It might take time but we’ll see what happens.

    Thanks for all the years of passion and enthusiasm. Individuals like yourself make creating games worth it.

  3. That’s cool, too! =)

    Honestly, I’d rather you pursue the game that is currently igniting your passion than to dwell on the past… … … at least, until you are ready to fire up EoD again. Take your time, I’m excited for rem, it sounds like a brilliant step forward for RPGs. =D

Leave a Reply

 
